Anheuser-Busch InBev is the largest brewer in the world, and formed from the merger of Anheuser-Busch and InBev in 2008. InBev began as Interbrew, which formed from the merger in 1988 of Brouwerij Artois (makers of Stella Artois) and South Belgian brewery Piedboeuf. They acquired several breweries including Labatt in Canada and Bass and Whitbread in the UK, before merging with AmBev in 2004 to form InBev. AmBev itself was created from the merger of Brahma and Antarctica breweries in 1999. In 2008, InBev acquired Anheuser-Busch, which has been formed in 1852 in St. Louis. This resulted in the new name of Anheuser-Busch InBev. Since the merger, the company has purchased Grupo Modelo in 2012 and SABMiller in 2016. Both acquisitions faced significant antitrust pushback, resulting in the firm giving up partial or full ownership of their brands to satisfy authorities.